Die Geschichte der Erdbebenwarte

The history of the Earthquake Station

The emergence of the earthquake station, the great time of seismic research, the imminent demolition and finally the successful rescue

Historical Earthquake Station

The history of the Earthquake Station

The Directors of the Earthquake Station

Emil Wiechert (1898–1928)
Gustav Angenheister (1928–1945)
Julius Bartels (1946–1964)
Manfred Siebert (1964–1992)
Ulrich Christensen (1992–2003)
Wiechert’sche Erdbebenwarte Göttingen e.V. (since 2005)

Chronology of the most important milestones

1897

Emil Wiechert moves from Königsberg to Göttingen. He succeeds in constructing seismographs to deliver the first scientifically valuable recordings for exploring the Earth’s interior.

1898

Wiechert is appointed as associate professor on 28 January and, in February, Director of the Geomagnetic Institute, which is renamed to the Institute of Geophysics with corresponding competencies by decree of 2 July. It is the world’s first institute to work in this field. In the first five decades, the main focus of work is seismology.

1899

In February, the first earthquakes are measured at the observatory using pendulums and light pointers. In summer, further instrumental equipment is developed in the cellar of the observatory; Wilhelm Schlüter develops what he calls a klinograph.

1901, autumn

The Institute of Geophysics occupies the new building on the Hainberg hill.

1902

The Old Earthquake Vault is completed and put into operation right away. At the end of the year, the construction of the new institute can be regarded as largely completed.

From 1902

The Göttingen-based companies Bartels and Spindler & Hoyer play a major role in building the seismographs.

1903

The continuous seismic recordings with the astatic horizontal seismograph are started in January.

1905

Start of recordings with the vertical seismograph; the 17-tonne pendulum is also gradually introduced during that time; the Earthquake Station in Göttingen becomes one of the main stations in the international network for seismological research; Wiechert is appointed to the Chair of Geophysics as full professor.

1906

By 1906, astatic horizontal seismographs by Wiechert are already used outside Göttingen in: Leipzig, Potsdam, Strasbourg, Jena, Hamburg, Uppsala and Samoa. April: full recording of the P, S and surface waves of the San Francisco earthquake; following the Loma Prieta earthquake of 1989 in the same region, the data of the Göttingen station allows a direct comparison of the two quakes. For more information, please visit: quake.wr.usgs.gov/info/1906/got_seismogram_lp.html (website in English)

1908

Additional stations are set up in Clausthal, Heligoland and Tsingtau (China); active experiments with the so-called “Mintrop ball” are started in the same year, marking the beginning of the seismic exploration of near-surface geological layers.

1903-1914

Seismological research in Göttingen makes major progress in both seismogram evaluation and theory, based on the high-quality data delivered by the Wiechert seismographs.

Fundamental scientific work on seismology published at that time relates to: seismic attenuation (Angenheister), method for earthquake location (Geiger method), creation of earth models (Wiechert, Geiger, Gutenberg), calculation of amplitude ratios at boundaries (Zoeppritz equations), first reliable proof of the boundary between the Earth’s mantle and crust at 2,900 m depth (Gutenberg), microseismics (Gutenberg), head waves (Mintrop wave), inverse method for exploring the physical properties of the Earth’s interior based on the travel times of seismic waves measured on the Earth’s surface (Wiechert-Herglotz method).

1921

Mintrop establishes the company Seismos, searching predominantly for crude oil reservoirs on a global scale.

1923

The earthquake that destroyed Tokyo is fully recorded on 1 September 1923.

1928

After Wiechert’s death, Gustav Angenheister takes over as the institute’s director. The main focus of work is the study of the seismic surface waves and the survey of the underground for mining and construction purposes.

1945

The earthquake station in Heligoland is destroyed by bombs.

1945/46

Angenheister dies and J. Bartels becomes his successor. Under his direction, geomagnetism – in connection with the emerging space research – becomes the main field of work.

1947

The Earthquake Station Göttingen records the explosion that was to blow up bunkers in Heligoland.

1964

  1. Bartels dies and M. Siebert takes over his position, initially on an interim basis, becoming full professor in 1968. The fields of research established under Bartels’ direction are continued and expanded, among them electromagnetic deep sounding by U. Schmucker from 1974.

1960-1990

Recording of all major nuclear explosions

1992

Ulrich Christensen becomes the institute’s new director. Besides his main fields of research (geodynamic models), seismology becomes a new focus. Michael Weber (today at the German Research Centre for Geosciences in Potsdam) comes to Göttingen. The institute leads the “Eifel Plume Project”. Recording of the explosion of a dud from World War II in Göttingen (Schützenplatz)

1998

Recording of the explosion of a dud from World War II in Göttingen (Pfalz-Grona-Breite)

2003

Christensen moves on to the MPI for Aeronomy, Katlenburg-Lindau, which operates today as the MPI for Solar System Research (MPS) in Göttingen. This position has been vacant since then.

2003

100 years of recording the stronger worldwide seismicity and the weaker regional seismicity

Since 2003

Seismological research is no longer carried out in Göttingen. The 100 years of operation of the Wiechert Earthquake Station continues (for now).

2005

16/06/2005: In view of the institute’s recent relocation to the northern area, the current director of the Institute of Geophysics, Prof. Karsten Bahr http://www.physik.uni-goettingen.de/verwaltung/members/Bahr.Karsten.html, orders that the operation of the Earthquake Station be discontinued with immediate effect. Despite some difficulties, the association (Wiechert’sche Erdbebenwarte Göttingen e.V.) and the institute’s staff manage to put the instruments into operation again after a few weeks.

Mid-June 2005: The Institute of Geophysics moves to the physics campus in the northern part of the University of Göttingen. The site is offered for sale by the State of Lower Saxony.

12/08/2005: The Earthquake Station and the scaffolding with the Mintrop ball pass into the ownership of the association “Wiechert’sche Erdbebenwarte Göttingen e.V.”. The Gaußhaus remains the university’s property and is maintained by the association “Wiechert’sche Erdbebenwarte Göttingen e.V.”. The purchase also comprises about half of the site of the former Institute of Geophysics.

More detailed information on the institute’s history can be found under M. SIEBERT (1997, 1998)

Read here how the Earthquake Station was saved.

The Hainberg of Göttingen, shortly after 1900.
The Hainberg of Göttingen, shortly after 1900.
Institute for Geophysics between 1902 and 1906, at the time when Wiechert and his team made Göttingen the center of seismic research.
Institute for Geophysics between 1902 and 1906, at the time when Wiechert and his team made Göttingen the center of seismic research.

Die Geschichte der Erdbebenwarte

Geschichte der Erdbebenwarte

Die Entstehung der Erdbebenwarte, die große Zeit seismischer Forschung, der drohende Abriss und schließlich die erfolgreiche Rettung

Historische Erdbebenwarte

Die Geschichte der Erdbebenwarte

Die Leiter der Erdbebenwarte

Emil Wiechert (1898–1928)
Gustav Angenheister (1928–1945)
Julius Bartels (1946–1964)
Manfred Siebert (1964–1992)
Ulrich Christensen (1992–2003)
Wiechert’sche Erdbebenwarte Göttingen e.V. (seit 2005)

Chronologie der wichtigsten Stationen

1897
Emil Wiechert kommt von Königsberg nach Göttingen. Ihm gelingt die Konstruktion von Seismographen, die erstmalig wissenschaftlich brauchbare Aufzeichnungen für die Erforschung des Erdinneren liefern.

1898
Am 28. Januar wird Wiechert zum außerordentlichen Professor und im Februar zum Direktor eines Erdmagnetischen Instituts ernannt, das durch Verfügung vom 2. Juli mit entsprechenden Kompetenzen zum Institut für Geophysik erweitert wird. Es ist weltweit das erste Institut dieser Fachrichtung. Schwerpunkt der Arbeiten in den ersten fünf Jahrzehnten ist die Seismologie.

1899
Im Februar gibt es erste Erdbebenmessungen mit Pendeln und Lichtzeigern in der Sternwarte. Im Sommer werden weitere apparative Vorarbeiten im Keller der Sternwarte durchgeführt, Wilhelm Schlüter entwickelt den von ihm so bezeichneten Klinographen.

1901, Herbst
Das Institut für Geophysik zieht in das neue Gebäude auf dem Hainberg.

1902  
Das Erdbebenhaus wird fertig gestellt und sogleich in Betrieb genommen. Mit Ende des Jahres kann der Neubau des Instituts im Wesentlichen als beendet angesehen werden.

ab 1902
Die Göttinger Firmen Bartels sowie Spindler & Hoyer leisten einen wesentlichen Beitrag bei der Realisation der Seismographen.

1903
Im Januar starten die kontinuierlichen seismischen Aufzeichnungen mit dem astatischen Horizontalseismographen.

1905
Beginn der Registrierungen mit dem Vertikalseismographen, das 17-Tonnen-Pendel kommt ebenfalls in dieser Zeit schrittweise zum Einsatz, die Erdbebenstation in Göttingen wird eine der Hauptstationen im internationalen Netz für Erdbebenforschung, Wiechert wird zum ordentlichen Professor für Geophysik ernannt.

1906
bis 1906 sind astatische Horizontalseismographen nach Wiechert außer in Göttingen bereits in: Leipzig, Potsdam, Straßburg, Jena, Hamburg, Uppsala und Samoa im Einsatz. April: Vollständige Aufzeichnung der P-, S- und Oberflächenwellen des San Francisco Erdbebens; nach dem Loma Prieta Erdbeben 1989 in derselben Region erlauben die Daten der Göttinger Station einen unmittelbaren Verlgeich der beiden Beben. Hier finden Sie mehr Informationen: quake.wr.usgs.gov/info/1906/got_seismogram_lp.html (Seite in Englisch)

1908
Es entstehen weitere Stationen in Clausthal, Helgoland und Tsingtau (China), im selben Jahr starten aktive Experimente mit der so genannten „Mintrop-Kugel“, die den Beginn der seismischen Untersuchungen von oberflächennahen geologischen Schichtungen bedeuten.

1903 bis 1914
Die seismische Forschung in Göttingen macht sowohl auf dem Gebiet der Auswertung der Seismogramme als auch in der Theorie große Fortschritte, basierend auf den qualitativ hochwertigen Daten der Wiechert-Seismographen.

Grundlegende wissenschaftliche Publikationen zur Seismologie in dieser Zeit betreffen: seismische Dämpfung (Angenheister), Methode zur Lokalisierung von Erdbeben (Geiger-Methode), Erstellung von Erdmodellen (Wiechert, Geiger, Gutenberg), Berechnung von Amplitudenverhältnissen an Grenzflächen (Zoeppritz-Gleichungen), erster zuverlässiger Nachweis der Grenzfläche zwischen Erdmantel und Erdkern in 2900 km Tiefe (Gutenberg), Mikroseismik (Gutenberg), Kopfwellen (Mintrop-Welle), Inversionsmethode zur Erforschung der physikalischen Eigenschaften des Erdinneren auf der Grundlage der an der Erdoberfäche gemessenen Laufzeiten von Erdbebenwellen (Wiechert-Herglotz-Verfahren).

1921
Mintrop gründet die Firma Seismos, die weltweit vor allem nach Erdöllagerstätten sucht.

1923
Am 1. September 1923 erfolgt die vollständige Aufzeichnung des Erdbebens, das Tokyo zerstörte.

1928
Nach Wiecherts Tod übernimmt von Gustav Angenheister das Institut. Schwerpunkte der Arbeiten sind das Studium der seismischen Oberflächenwellen und die Untersuchung des Untergrundes zu bergbaulichen und bautechnischen Zwecken.

1945
Die Erdbebenstation auf Helgoland wird durch Bomben zerstört.

1945/46
Angenheister stirbt und J. Bartels wird sein Nachfolger. Unter ihm wird der Erdmagnetismus – im Zusammenhang mit der aufkommenden Weltraumforschung – zum Arbeitsschwerpunkt.

1947
Die Göttinger Erdbebenstation zeichnet die Explosion auf, mit der Helgoland gesprengt werden sollte.

1964
J. Bartels stirbt und M. Siebert übernimmt seine Stelle zunächst kommissarisch und ab 1968 als ordentlicher Professor. Die unter Bartels eingeschlagenen Forschungsrichtungen werden fortgeführt und erweitert, so auch ab 1974 verstärkt die elektromagnetische Tiefenforschung durch U. Schmucker.

1960-1990
Registrierung aller großen Nuklearexplosionen

1992
Ulrich Christensen wird neuer Leiter des Instituts. Neben seinem Forschungsschwerpunkt (Geodynamische Modelle) soll die Seismik ein neuer Schwerpunkt werden. Michael Weber (heute am Geophysikalischen Forschungszentrum Potsdam) kommt nach Göttingen. Das Institut leitet das „Eifel Plume Project“. Registrierung der Explosion eines Bombenblindgängers des 2. Weltkriegs in Göttingen (Schützenplatz)

1998
Registrierung der Explosion eines Bombenblindgängers des 2. Weltkriegs in Göttingen (Pfalz-Grona-Breite)

2003
Christensen wechselt an das MPI für Aeronomie, Katlenburg-Lindau, dass jetzt als MPI fuer Sonnensystemforschung (MPS) in Goettingen „angesiedelt“ ist. Seither ist diese Stelle unbesetzt.

2003
100-jährige Registrierung der stärkeren weltweiten Seismizität sowie der schwächeren regionalen Seismizität

seit 2003
In Göttingen findet keine seismische Forschung mehr statt. Der inzwischen 100-jährige Betrieb der Wiechertschen Erdbebenwarte wird (noch) weitergeführt.

2005
16.06.2005: Der aktuelle Leiter des Instituts für Geophysik, Prof. Karsten Bahr http://www.physik.uni-goettingen.de/verwaltung/members/Bahr.Karsten.html, ordnet im Hinblick auf den gerade erfolgenden Umzug des Instituts in den Nordbereich an, den Betrieb der Erdbebenwarte sofort einzustellen. Verein (Wiechert’scher Erdbebenwarte Göttingen e.V.) und Institutsmitarbeiter können die Geräte trotz einiger Schwierigkeiten nach wenigen Wochen wieder in Gang bringen.

Mitte Juni 2005: Das Institut für Geophysik zieht auf den Physik-Campus im Nordbereich der Universität Göttingen. Das Gelände wird vom Land Niedersachsen zum Kauf angeboten.

12.08.2005: Die Erdbebenwarte und das Gerüst mit der Mintrop-Kugel gehen in den Besitz des Vereins „Wiechert’sche Erdbebenwarte Göttingen e.V.“ über. Das Gauss-Haus bleibt Eigentum der Universität und wird vom Verein Wiechert’sche Erdbebenwarte Göttingen betreut. Der Kauf umfasst ebenfalls etwa die Hälfte des Geländes des ehemaligen Instituts für Geophysik.

Ausführlichere Angaben zur Geschichte des Instituts finden sich bei M. SIEBERT (1997, 1998)

Die Geschichte der Rettung der Erdbebenwarte finden Sie hier

Der Göttinger Hainberg, kurz nach 1900.
Der Göttinger Hainberg, kurz nach 1900.
Institut für Geophysik zwischen 1902 und 1906, zu der Zeit also, in der Wiechert und sein Team Göttingen zum Zentrum der seismischen Forschung machten.
Institut für Geophysik zwischen 1902 und 1906, zu der Zeit also, in der Wiechert und sein Team Göttingen zum Zentrum der seismischen Forschung machten.